provider-capability

ByteDance Doubao Text, reasoning, and code

Direct answerUse this guide to understand the ByteDance Doubao Text, reasoning, and code capability, then verify the exact callable model ID, endpoint, and price in the model marketplace before integration.

Updated · Reviewed

Capability boundary

The ByteDance Doubao Text, reasoning, and code catalog describes the jobs this class of model is intended to solve. It does not mean that every listed model shares request fields, input limits, or output formats. Read each model card together with its lifecycle status, origin, and official source. A platform provider may host models from several original vendors, so both the displayed ID and origin matter.

Selection criteria

Evaluate text, reasoning, and code workloads separately. Factual answers need accuracy and grounded citations; difficult reasoning needs consistency and verifiable outcomes; coding needs repository-level edits and passing tests; structured output needs schema adherence. Agent workflows also need correct tool choice, argument construction, and recovery from failed calls. A larger context window alone does not guarantee a better production result, so compare time to first token, end-to-end latency, output limits, concurrency, and reasoning cost.

Integration and protocol boundary

Confirm the exact model ID, authentication method, endpoint, and request schema in the ByteDance Doubao official documentation, then look for the same exact ID and supported endpoint in this site's model marketplace. Changing only the base URL does not guarantee an identical response contract. Streaming events, asynchronous jobs, file uploads, tool calls, and error payloads may require separate adapters.

Production checklist

Build a repeatable evaluation from representative inputs and record the model ID, parameters, input version, and result. Measure success rate, tail latency, throttling, timeout behavior, cost per completed task, and safety outcomes. Prepare a replacement path for preview or legacy models. The official catalog explains product boundaries; callable availability, channel status, and current pricing remain the responsibility of the model marketplace.

Reviewed provider catalog

Models in this capability

These are provider-catalog models, not a promise of availability on this site. Confirm callable IDs, endpoints, and pricing in the model marketplace.

Text, reasoning, and code

  • doubao-seed-evolving Stable

    Doubao's continuously evolving agent and coding model with a fixed ID that tracks the strongest production version.

    Release date not stated in the cited official source
  • doubao-seed-2-1-pro-260628 Stable

    Seed 2.1 Pro for complex reasoning, coding and multi-step agents, with image and video understanding. Exact capabilities and rates depend on the version and channel.

    Release date not stated in the cited official source
  • doubao-seed-2-1-turbo-260628 Stable

    Seed 2.1 Turbo for assistance, coding, agents and visual understanding; the Turbo model and Fast service tier are separate choices.

    Release date not stated in the cited official source
  • doubao-seed-2-0-lite-260428 Stable

    Seed 2.0 Lite balances quality and speed. Version 260428 supports text, image, video and audio understanding, with separate audio and cache accounting.

    Release date not stated in the cited official source
  • doubao-seed-2-0-mini-260428 Stable

    Seed 2.0 Mini emphasizes throughput and cost, with audiovisual understanding in version 260428. Built-in price bands use complete input length, including cache hits.

    Release date not stated in the cited official source
Check live availability in the model marketplace

Use cases

  • Complex Q&A, reasoning, and structured output
  • Code generation, tool use, and agent workflows

FAQ

How should I choose a ByteDance Doubao Text, reasoning, and code model?

Start from the required input and output, then compare quality, latency, context or media limits, tool support, lifecycle status, and total request cost with representative production samples.

Does every model in the official catalog work on this site?

Not necessarily. The documentation records the provider catalog; callable IDs, channel support, endpoints, and current prices must be confirmed in the model marketplace.

What should be tested before production rollout?

Pin the exact model ID and endpoint, test success and error responses, measure quality and latency on real inputs, set timeouts and bounded retries, and monitor provider deprecations.

Official sources

  1. Official Seed 2.1 Model Overview Official
  2. Official Seed 2.0 Model Overview Official
  3. Doubao Seed 2.1 Pro — Official Model and Pricing Official
  4. Doubao Seed 2.1 Turbo — Official Model and Pricing Official
  5. Doubao Seed 2.0 Lite — Official Model and Pricing Official
  6. Doubao Seed 2.0 Mini — Official Model and Pricing Official
  7. Volcengine Ark Beginner Quickstart Official
  8. Volcengine Ark Model Call Quickstart Official
  9. Volcengine Ark API Key Configuration Official
  10. Volcengine Ark Base URLs and Authentication Official
  11. Volcengine Ark OpenAI SDK Compatibility Official
  12. Volcengine Ark Error Codes Official
  13. Volcengine Python SDK — Batch Chat Completions Official